The Day I Moved To Louisville Kentucky

Louisville

For 25 years I lived in a little town called Princeton, Indiana. I lived with my father away from the town. It was peaceful and quiet and I could walk without hearing the sound of traffic. The only sound that was heard was the train that passed by and blocked the road everyday. That was one annoyance of living by a train track.

It took me four years to plan my move to Louisville. Before all this I also lived in Evansville, Indiana for a good three years on my own. I wanted to experience life out of the little city. I also wanted to live close to my job and school. If it weren’t for those three years of living in Evansville, and previously traveling to anime conventions I wouldn’t have met the love of my life. I also wouldn’t make the preparations to move to Louisville in the first place. It didn’t happen right away, but I moved back home and saved my money in order to be closer to him and be with him. I also felt like moving to this new state and city would create more opportunists in the future.

For a year in a half I saved up all the money I could muster. We planned to at first move into an apartment, but fate had a different plan for us. His father decided to sell the house and we made the decision to buy it. It was the best move we’ve done in order for me to be close to him. Soon those nights of being on the phone twice a day with the one I love would end. I could talk to him face to face and be close.

The day I moved, it was bittersweet and hard. I was moving away from everything I’ve known all my life. My father, my family, the home that I’ve known, and most importantly the resting place of my mother. I know she would have wanted me to be happy. I am happier than I have ever been.

Eric and his friend Chris drove up to help me move the furniture I was taking. It was only a bed, a chair, and a table I would be using for the sewing machine that was passed down to me at the new place. We also packed up many of my belongings. When you pack for a move you realize how much stuff you have. It was a two-hour drive from Princeton to Louisville. I said see you later to my dad and for a moment we both thought that there would be tears. I’m not going to lie I cried a bit on the drive down. Who wouldn’t, honestly?

The drive down went smoothly than expected. It was quick. I’ve driven back and forth many times to visit Eric. Only difference was I didn’t need to move stuff. When we got to the house we had some of our friends come over to help us unload. With their help we got done quick and I couldn’t have thanked them enough. The first night in Louisville was pretty awesome. Usually on the first night of living in a new place is scary but we had pizza and relaxed for the rest of the night. Next day was unpacking clothes and planning for the week ahead. As the week progressed I did a lot of transferring over to the state. I was also looking for a better job to keep up with the bills.

When I lived in Princeton I had a job that was an hour away. I could have transferred but it wasn’t enough to pay the bills on the house. I wanted a job that would pay more. So when I changed addresses my job search started. That will be a blog post for another day.

Thanks for reading. This was my first blog post here. I hope to update soon for the next one.

 

Author: orochisblog

Hello, I'm Jocelyn. You all can call me Joce, Orochi, or whatever nickname you have for me. I'm 25 years old, living in Louisville with the love of my life, and my dog who sleeps all day whose name is named after an Irish beer. His name is Guinness. (That wasn't my choice my boyfriend gave him that name way before I was a love interest.) If my friends were to talk about me I know they would say I'm strong-willed and nice with a fury of 1000 suns. That's a lighter way of saying I'm crazy. Honestly, who's not a little bit insane? I am an artist, dreamer, writer, vlogger, seamstress, and a songstress when no one is around. Enough about that. I'm sure you are wondering what this blog is going to be about. This will be a personalized blog of my adventures and life in Louisville. I've always wanted to travel. Living here I will get to experience that more often. Living in the country for most of my life and living in a city for two years, you would be craving an adventure in the great wild some where. (I'm a Disney nerd too.) I will also be blogging about Nerd and Geek culture as said in the title. I'm a huge anime and video game nerd. I hope that you all look forward to this blog. Strap yourselves in because this is going to be a fun ride. Fun Facts About Jocelyn Birthday: November 7th, 1991 Astrological Sign: Scorpio Interests: Anime, Video Games, Cosplay, Travel, Good people in general Top 10 Favorite Animes: Naruto, RWBY, Sailor Moon, All Dragon Ball Series, Beserk, Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid, Code Geass, Death Note, Panty and Stocking With Garterbelt, and Madoka Magica. Favorite Video Games: Kingdom Hearts, Final Fantasy X, Skyrim, and Fallout 4 Favorite Cosplay: Out of all the cosplays I do, I love cosplaying Orochimaru. Favorite Color: Purple and Pastel Blue Places I want to travel to one day: Ireland, Scotland, London, South Korea, Japan, France, and California.

Leave a Reply

